Capt. Tony Tarracino’s Headstone

IMG_1750I’ve always said “Expect ANYTHING in Key West!”. Knowing that, I’m rarely surprised by what I see… but this one got me!

This uniquely written headstone gracing the wall of one of Key West’s most famous bars even caught me off-guard. Some things in life need little explanation or clarification, this my friends is one of them. I’ll give you a moment to read it… (this is me waiting)… there, see what I mean! Interpret it as you may, it didn’t say that he was married at the time of his death.

You can find this most unusual cemetery headstone inside of Capt. Tony’s Saloon at 428 Greene Street in the heart of Key West’s famous ‘Old Town’.

2 Comments

Filed under key west

2 responses to “Capt. Tony Tarracino’s Headstone

  1. An awesome part of Capt. Tony’s. One of my fave pictures in the place is from the newspaper coverage of his funeral, with two of his sons – the oldest and youngest – as pallbearers. There is definitely a large gap in age between the two!

Leave a Reply

