History Of Labor Day

The first Labor Day in the United States was observed on September 5, 1882, by the Central Labor Union of New York. It became a federal holiday in 1894 following the deaths of a number of workers at the hands of the U.S. Military and U.S. Marshals during the Pullman Railcar Strike. Fearing further conflict, President Grover Cleveland reconciled with the labor movement making Labor Day a national holiday observed by all U.S. states, District of Columbia, & U.S. territories.

Being the smart butt I am, (some would say without even trying) 🙂 I’ve included a photo of myself snoozing in a hammock with beer in-hand to rub in the fact that I’ve already written my daily blog and I’m in ‘Relax Mode’ doing absolutely nothing for the rest of my ‘Labor (FREE) Day’! 🙂

Warning: Objects in this photo may appear larger than they actually are! Please, no comments about what appears to be my size 26 Shaquille O’Neal sized shoes! 🙂

Happy Labor Day from Mr. 365 Days

Leave a comment

Filed under key west

Leave a Reply

