It’s A Bird… It’s A Plane… It’s A Bike?

IMG_4274 We’ve all heard ‘It’s a bird… It’s a plane… It’s Superman!’… we’ll, not quite the case in this instance! ‘It’s A Bike!’, yes, this is indeed the oddest bike I’ve ever seen in my life!

From a distance I thought it was one of those coin-operated rides like the motorized pony or fire engine you occasionally see in front of dime stores. I had to turn around and find out for myself and boy was I glad I did! To my amazement it was a bicycle with a paper Mache outer skin in the shape of an island favorite Pelican! And ‘YES’ the wings do go up and down! 🙂 How cool is that! Look close at both photos.

In order to have a chance on finding this Key West bicycle oddity, go first to the East Martello Tower Museum where I found it on the southeast portion of the island exactly next to the International Airport. If it’s not there… then just look around town as you enjoy your time in Key West. Good Luck! 🙂

IMG_4275

Leave a comment

Filed under key west

Leave a Reply

