Road & Ferry Marker

I wish I could set up a video camera to see how many people per day (IF ANY) stop along the side of the road to read this 3 ft. x 3 ft. white stone with a plague on it… my educated quess would be a grand total of ONLY ME! 🙂 I’ve NEVER seen a single person looking at it EVER!!!!!

This Road & Ferry Marker sits about 12 ft off the main road US-1 southbound against some hedges and is nearly impossible to see as you travel by the gas station & hardware store across the street. It reads: “In April, 1926 Monroe County began construction of a road on the east end of Upper Matecumbe Key to connect with other islands. It eventually made it possible to drive to Key West by using a ferry. The first car drove to Key West on January 25th, 1928 by boarding a ferry here at todays Boy Scout Sea Base and crossing 40 miles of water to No Name Key. Later the ferry docked at Grassy Key, traveling by road to the west end of todays Marathon. From there a ferry crossed to No Name Key. It was on the morning of March 29, 1938 that the daughter of the Cuban Council cut the ribbon opening the road without the ferries by using the widened railway bridges. A toll booth was erected here to collect $1 for car and driver and 25 cents for each additional passenger. The toll was removed in 1954.” Wow, how neat! It’s hard for us to fathom, think about it, the only way to travel to Key West until 1938 was by boat or train and before September 22nd, 1912 (train’s debut) it was ONLY accessible by boat!

You can find this FREE overlooked historical marker at Mile Marker 73.8 on the bayside of US-1.

    

4 Comments

Filed under key west

4 responses to “Road & Ferry Marker

  1. James R. White

    In your post about the Road & Ferry Marker at https://shoestringweekends.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/road-ferry-marker/ I mentioned a similar marker at the North End of Channel 2 Bridge.

    I was walking by it today and took a couple of pictures of it. See http://gallery.me.com/james_r_white#100306/IMG_0396&bgcolor=black and http://gallery.me.com/james_r_white#100306/IMG_0394&bgcolor=black

    I don’t think the sign is correct . . . I think the pilings are what are left of the auto ferry ramp that ran from Toll Gate Shores to Big Pine Key. Jerry Wilkinson would know for sure.

    • Thanks James,

      WOW, thanks! I can’t wait to see them in person. I’d love to find out the truth about the pilings, its hard to believe that a marker would be wrong… but then again, it wouldn’t surprise me. I see from your Facebook Profile that you’re living in the Keys, maybe on one of my up coming trips we could meet up at one of the makers mentioned just for a few minutes. I would very much enjoy meeting and speaking with you. you too could put a face & voice to the blogs you’ve read.

      Thanks again,
      Mr. 365 Days
      Ok, my real name is Art, I don’t have a personal Facebook account yet. 🙂

  2. John

    I read your column daily. Slight correction: Henry Flagler’s train came to Key West on January (not September) 22, 1912.

    • Thanks for your loyal reading, I will in deed look into the dates and wording of it which it was mentioned. I too have another reader who keeps me in check on anything East Coast Railway. As a blog writer it’s good to have a series of checks and balances. Thanks again for reading! Mr. 365 Days

Leave a Reply

