Drove My Chevy To The Levee

4499783325_4d6a1e7546_b

Old Levee

Out with the old and in with the new! Seen here are both the old wooden & metal levee with its new replacement cement levee.

Wow, this brings back memories! The last time I was here I drove my Chevy to the levee but the levee was dry and them good old boys were drinking whiskey and rye singing this’ll be the day that I die… so sorry, I got caught up in the past singing Don McLean’s 1972 #1 smash hit song ‘American Pie’. 🙂 I don’t even have a Chevy! (look in the photo, you’ll see my Hyundai)

You can find this little known boat ramp and levee of a park (with no facilities) at Mile Marker 116.4 oceanside of US-1 South beneath the overpass on what is commonly called the “18-Mile Stretch”.

          8630523420_efd93dc807_b

4499783325_4d6a1e7546_b

New Cement Levee

Leave a comment

Filed under key west

Leave a Reply

